Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

2 Boks nominated for World Player of the Year

02 November 2018 12:44 PM
52 0
2 Boks nominated for World Player of the Year

Cape Town - Two Springboks have been nominated for the prestigious 2018 World Rugby Player of the Year award.

Scrumhalf Faf de Klerk and hooker Malcolm Marx are two of five nominees for the award.

The other are Beauden Barrett, Rieko Ioane (both New Zealand) and Johnny Sexton.

The winner will be known at the World Rugby Awards at the Salle des Etoiles in Monte Carlo on November 25.

De Klerk, who plays his rugby out Sale Sharks in England, has had a resurgent year in Springbok colours and has been at the heart of the South African revival under coach Rassie Erasmus.

Marx, meanwhile, is considered one of the best hookers in world rugby today with his ability to make turnovers a highlight of his game.

The shortlist was finalised by the World Rugby Awards panel which comprises Rugby World Cup winners Richie McCaw, John Smit, George Gregan, Maggie Alphonsi and former England coach Clive Woodward alongside Brian O’Driscoll, Fabien Galthié and Agustín Pichot.


Share in social networks:

Comments - 0